Absent Student – English III

Check here for the work you missed in class!  Updated Daily/Weekly.

Tuesday, November 20:  Term Tuesday (Irony).  Work on short stories.  See slides
– HOMEWORK
Work on stories (final drafts due Monday @ beginning of period.  If late, then -40%).
Monday, November 19: 
MUGS #11.  Work on short stories.  See slides
– HOMEWORK
Work on stories (final drafts due Tuesday @ end of day).
Friday, November 16: 
Work on story-telling arc.  Get approved by Mrs. Schulte. Start drafting.  See slides.
– HOMEWORK:
 Work on stories (final drafts due Tuesday @ end of day).
Thursday, November 15: 
NoRedInk Unit 3 Quiz.  Work on short stories – pages 14, 15, and 16 – see slides.
– HOMEWORK:
Work on Story-Telling Arc (due tomorrow).
Wednesday, November 14:
Words Wednesday (check Words, Words, Words page to get this week’s words).  Test over The Crucible.  Look at notes on webpage about Modern Witch Hunts.  See slides
– HOMEWORK:  
NoRedInk – Unit 3, Part 2 Practice.  Read through notes online. 
Tuesday, November 13: 
Hand in Act 4.  NoRedInk (Unit 3: Partner Practice).  Review game – Quote Race (pages 12-13).  See slides.
– HOMEWORK
NoRedInk – Unit 3, Part 2 Practice.  Review for test.
Monday, November 12:  MUGS #11.  View Act 4.  Act 4 questions due tomorrow. See slides.
– HOMEWORK:  
Act 4 questions.  NoRedInk – Unit 3, Part 2 Practice.  
Friday, November 9: 
Discuss Act 3 questions (hand in).  Read Act 4.  Work on questions.  (see slides). 
– HOMEWORK:  
Act 4 questions.  NoRedInk – Unit 3, Part 2 Practice.  
Thursday, November 8:
  NoRedInk Work Time.  Briefly review Act 2.  Read Act 3 and work on questions.  See slides
– HOMEWORK
Act 3 questions.  NoRedInk – Unit 3, Part 1 Practice.  
Wednesday, November 7:
Vocabulary Quiz.  Hand in Act 2 questions. View Act 3.  Slides here.
– HOMEWORK:  
NoRedInk – Unit 3, Part 1 Practice.  
Tuesday, November 6:
NoRedInk Work Time.  View Act 2 – work on Act 2 questions (due tomorrow).
– HOMEWORK:  
NoRedInk – Unit 3, Part 1 Practice.   Finish Act 2 questions.
Monday, November 5:
MUGS.  Work on questions for Act 2. 
– HOMEWORK:  
NoRedInk – Unit 3, Part 1 Practice.   Finish Act 2 questions.
Friday, November 2:
Journal entry.  Read Act 2. 
– HOMEWORK:  
NoRedInk – Unit 3, Part 1 Practice. 
Thursday, November 1: 
NoRedInk Quiz.  Complete Act 1 Character Map (page 8).  View Act 1. 
– HOMEWORK
  Finish podcast questions.
Wednesday, October 31:
Word Wednesday (#5).  Listen to “Seances and Secrets” podcast and answer the questions.  We will discuss Friday.
– HOMEWORK:  
Unit 2 practice (NoRedInk).  Finish podcast questions.
Tuesday, October 30: 
Term (personification).  Finish Act 1.  Work on questions. View Act 1.
– HOMEWORK:  
Unit 2 practice (NoRedInk).  Finish Act 1 questions (PDF available here).
Monday, October 29: 
MUGS#8.  Finish reading Act 1.  Work on Act 1 questions (in packet).  Slides from today.
– HOMEWORK:  
Unit 2 practice (NoRedInk).  Finish Act 1 questions (PDF available here).
Friday, October 26:
  
Journal! Check slides for prompt.  Read Act 1 of The Crucible (search for a PDF online like here!
– HOMEWORK:  
Unit 2 practice (NoRedInk). 
Thursday, October 25: 
NoRedInk – Unit 2 Practice.  Discuss “Sinners…” questions.  Complete author study on Arthur Miller on page 4.
– HOMEWORK:  
Unit 2 practice (NoRedInk).  Finish biography study.
Wednesday, October 24:
Words Wednesday (#4).  Read “Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God” and answer questions 1-7 on page 3. 
– HOMEWORK:  NoRedInk Unit 2 Practice.  Quiz tomorrow!
Tuesday, October 23:  SRI.  Go through notes for “Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God.” (Slides here). 
– HOMEWORK:  
NoRedInk Unit 2 Practice.  Quiz Thursday!  Essay corrections due tomorrow.
Monday, October 22:  
MUGS #7.  Essay Corrections – due Wednesday.
– HOMEWORK:  NoRedInk Unit 2 Practice.  Quiz Thursday!

Thursday, October 18 and Friday, October 19:  No School (MEA Break)

Wednesday, October 17:  Roots Quiz!  Final revisions – due by 3:30 Today.  Click here to see the slides along with the explanation of the revision stations.
– HOMEWORK:  
Final drafts due by 3:30 today.  NoRedInk Unit 2 Practice.
Tuesday, October 16: 
Check 1st drafts.  Revision Game!  Get points for going through the steps: 1) Peer Reading 2) Peer Revision 3) Give paper back to peer 4) Self Revision.
– HOMEWORK:  
Final drafts due by 3:30 tomorrow.
Monday, October 15: MUGS #6. 
Outline Check (by Mrs. Schulte for points).  Work on 1st drafts.  Two copies needed for tomorrow in class. 
– HOMEWORK:  
First drafts (2 typed copies) will be due tomorrow.
Friday, October 12: 
Quick return/renew.  Essay Outlining.  (See notes on Calendar page or here).  
HOMEWORK
Outlines due Monday.  First drafts (2 typed copies) will be due Tuesday.
Thursday, October 11: 
NoRedInk – Unit 1 Quiz.  Essay Work: Brainstorm and graphic organizer.  
– HOMEWORK:  
Finish all work – due Friday 10/12.  Finish organizer for tomorrow.
Wednesday, October 10: 
Words #3 (Quiz 10/17).  Finish “Narrative of the Captivity” and handout (page 40).  Work on finishing all other handouts/readings in preparation for essay.
– HOMEWORK:  
NoRedInk Unit 1 Practice due 10/10. (Quiz tomorrow).  Finish all work – due Friday 10/12.
Tuesday, October 9: 
Term (Paradox).  Check out video lecture on homepage!  Read “Narrative of the Captivity” and annotate then work on handout.
– HOMEWORK:  
NoRedInk Unit 1 Practice due 10/10. “Online Discovery Hunt” due 10/10.
Monday, October 8:
MUGS #5.  Read poem on page 12 then answer questions (pg 10).  Read article on page 13+ then answer questions (pg 11).  Read article online (posted on my homepage) and answer question (pg 11).
– HOMEWORK:  
NoRedInk Unit 1 Practice due 10/10. “Online Discovery Hunt” due 10/10. 
Friday, October 5:
Read “General History of Virginia” – annotate – fill out worksheet on page 31.
– HOMEWORK
Finish “General History” and handout (pg 31).  NoRedInk Unit 1 Practice due 10/10. “Online Discovery Hunt” due 10/10.
Thursday, October 4: 
* Hand in Refugee Final Drafts. * NoRedInk – Unit 1 Practice.  Finish reading “of Plymouth Plantation” and annotating.  Complete notes and questions on page 17 in Unit packet. 
– HOMEWORK:  
NoRedInk Unit 1 Practice due 10/10. “Online Discovery Hunt” due 10/10. 
Wednesday, October 3:
Words #2 (Quiz on the 17th).  Continue reading “of Plymouth Plantation” and annotating. 
– HOMEWORK:  
NoRedInk Unit 1 Practice due 10/10.  Refugee final drafts due 10/4.  “Online Discovery Hunt” due 10/10. 
Tuesday, October 2: 
Terms – Point of View.  Quick notes.  Read pages 18-21 of “of Plymouth Plantation” – annotate – record notes. 
– HOMEWORK
 NoRedInk Unit 1 Practice due 10/10.  Refugee final drafts due 10/4.  “Online Discovery Hunt” due 10/10. 
Monday, October 1: 
MUGS#4.  Hand in analytical paragraphs.  Work through “Online Discovery Hunt” (pages 8-9 in packet).  
HOMEWORK
NoRedInk Unit 1 Practice due 10/10.  Refugee final drafts due 10/4.  “Online Discovery Hunt” due 10/10. 
Friday, September 28: 
NoRedInk – Unit 1 Practice.  Develop topic sentence for analytical paragraph due Monday (page 7 of packet – Prompt:  Analyze a theme from Silko’s poem.).
HOMEWORK
Write paragraph.  Work on NoRedInk for 20 minutes.
Thursday, September 27: 
Writing – Revised Sentences.  Turn in “Power of Words” handout.  ANNOTATION QUIZ.  You must make this up within 1 week.  Sign up – you’ll need 1/2 hour. 
HOMEWORK
Read.
Wednesday, September 26:  
District Writing Assessment.  You MUST make this up by Monday, 10/1.
– HOMEWORK:  
Read.  Finish “Power of Words” handout.
Tuesday, September 25: 
Words (get from classmate).  Go over 3rd stanza.  Annotate next 4 in small groups.  (See pictures on homepage)  QUIZ THURSDAY OVER REMAINING POEM. 
HOMEWORKGo to my homepage and go through the notes on “Power of Words” then complete the revision sheet attached to your cover page in the Absent Work Bin.
Monday, September 24:  MUGS 3.  HAND IN ROUGH DRAFTS (2ND)!!  Get “Annotate to…” handout.  Annotate 1st 3 stanzas of poem (get from a classmate).  
HOMEWORK
Read.
Friday, September 21: 
SSR (reading time).  Vocabulary notes – get notes off of homepage post (English 3 – Juxtaposition).  
HOMEWORK
Read.  Rough drafts due 9/24.
Thursday, September 20:  A) 
Go over Intro and Conclusion paragraphs (in writing handbook).  Apply to revisions of rough drafts.  B) Give presentations on Indian Policies. 
HOMEWORK
Read.  Rough drafts due 9/24.
Wednesday, September 19: 
Grab new unit packet.  Discuss history of Federal Indian policy.  Work in groups to summarize one policy.  Be ready to present tomorrow.
HOMEWORK
Read.  Rough drafts due 9/24.
Tuesday, September 18: 
Terms (Archetype).  ACT Aspire (must be made up by 9/21).  Work through MLA Notes on own (see homepage – password: bengals).  
HOMEWORK
Finish notes.  Read!  Revise refugee rough drafts by 9/24.
Monday, September 17: 
MUGS #2.  MLA Notes (get from classmate).  Handed back rough drafts.  Another revision due Monday 9/24.  Expectation is that MLA will be correct and Intro / Conclusion paragraphs will be reformatted (along with other suggested corrections).  
HOMEWORK
Read and revise rough drafts (due 9/24)
Friday, September 14:  
NoRedInk Diagnostic.  You need to get logged in and set up your account.  See the home page for the instructions.
– HOMEWORK:  
Read!!
Thursday, September 13:
Library day!!  Check out a book and bring it tomorrow!   Also – revisions due today!
HOMEWORK
Read!!!  Fill out your pacing bookmark and get started!
Wednesday, September 12: 
Review answers to 9/11 speech.  Play “Plagiarism Game” – discuss what is and isn’t plagiarism. 
HOMEWORK
Revisions due tomorrow.
Tuesday, September 11: 
Terms + additional ones (get from a classmate), Read and annotated President Bush’s 9/11 speech – answer questions on back of handout.
HOMEWORK:
Revise “worst” draft into a rough draft.  Due Thursday.
Monday, September 10:
MUG #1, Discuss timed write – strengths, weaknesses. 
HOMEWORK
Revise “worst” draft into a rough draft.  Due Thursday.
Friday, September 7: 
Timed Write on Refugees. 
HOMEWORK
None!  Enjoy!
Thursday, September 6: 
PICTURES!  Read the Refugee article handed out in class and annotate.  Read articles online (see post on Home page).  Be ready for timed write tomorrow.
HOMEWORK
Prep for timed write. 
Wednesday, September 5:  
Vocab Kahoot online (review of ACT vocabulary).  Assemble binders for class.  Pick up “Refugee Resettlement” article.
HOMEWORK
Email due tomorrow (see Tuesday).  Picture day tomorrow.   Read Refugee article in preparation for timed write Friday.
Tuesday, September 4:
Finish “Power of Punctuation” notes.  Go over Email Netiquette (get notes from classmate).
HOMEWORK:  Write one email for one scenario – due Thursday 9/6/2018.  SUPPLIES/SYLLABUS DUE TOMORROW.

Friday, August 31:  Syllabus review and Power of Punctuation notes
HOMEWORK
Signed syllabus and supplies due 9/5/2018.  Get notes from a classmate and complete exercise.  Letter to Self due Tuesday!
Thursday, August 30
: First day of class!  Welcome back!
HOMEWORK:  Complete “Letter to Self” letter for Tuesday.