Absent Student – English III

Check here for the work you missed in class!  Updated Daily/Weekly.

Have a great summer!!  See you next year when you are SENIORS!

  • Wednesday, June 6:  FINALS:  6th 8:20-9:40
    • Final test
    • Course evaluation
  • Tuesday, June 5:  FINALS:  3rd 8:20-9:40 ……… 4th 9:55-11:15 ……… 5th 11:50-1:10
    • Final test
    • Course evaluation
  • Monday, June 4:  Finals for 0, 1, and 2.
  • Friday, June 1:  Turn in worksheets.  SRI (Reading Inventory).  Review for finals!
  • Thursday, May 31:  Finish film.  Work on all worksheets.
  • Wednesday, May 30:  Watch part 3 of film.  Work on worksheet #3.
  • Tuesday, May 29:  Discuss part 1.  Watch part 2 of film.  Work on worksheet #2.
  • Friday, May 25:  Round 1 of movie analysis: A.I. – watch.
  • Thursday, May 24:  Noredink (Active Passive Voice 2).  Read “SuperToys” and answer questions INDIVIDUALLY (open book quiz).
  • Wednesday, May 23:  Read “Robot Dreams” and complete questions.
  • Tuesday, May 22:  Read “The Marionettes” and complete questions.  Hand in “Veldt” questions.
  • Monday, May 21:  Hand back blogs (corrections due Friday).  Discuss “The Veldt.”  Hand in questions.
  • Friday, May 18:  Log checks.  Watch 2081 – discuss questions.  Read “The Veldt.”
  • Thursday, May 17:  Discuss Active/Passive Voice.  Discuss “Harrison Bergeron” questions.
  • Wednesday, May 16:  Read “Harrison Bergeron” and answer questions.
  • Tuesday, May 15:  Hand in blogs.  Library Day to check out Sci-Fi.
  • Monday, May 14:  Work on blogs – Due tomorrow!
  • Friday, May 11:  Review Works Cited and MLA In-text citations.  Work on blog.  Homework – work on blog (due Tuesday).
  • Thursday, May 10:  Anatomy of a Blog (notes).  Review assignment, go over sample.  Start researching and writing!
  • Wednesday, May 9:  Modes Assessment – Argumentative.  Hand in Essay corrections.
  • Tuesday, May 8:  Finish MLA Notes.  Plagiarism Game.  Essay corrections due tomorrow.
  • Monday, May 7:  Essay corrections (due Wednesday).  New Unit – Mini-Research Review!  MLA Citation notes (pages 1-4 in packet).
  • Friday, May 4:  No School – Vigilante Day.
  • Thursday, May 3:  Work day – essay corrections, missing work.
  • Wednesday, May 2:  Finish film.  Word! Worksheet (tragedy terms).
  • Tuesday, May 1:  Watch film.  Discuss tragic heroes.

APRIL

  • Monday, April 30:  Hand in final essays.  Continue watching Film.
  • Friday, April 27:  Final conferences on essays (Final drafts due Monday).  Begin film.
  • Thursday, April 26:  Self-Revision Stations (Round 2) then work on final drafts. Final drafts due Monday!
  • Wednesday, April 25:  Self-Revision stations then peer revision stations on essay.  Work on essay – 2nd drafts tomorrrow!
  • Tuesday, April 24:  Work on essay!
  • Monday, April 23:  TEST!  Work on essay.
  • Friday, April 20:  Review Game for test.  REVIEW FOR TEST MONDAY!  WORK ON ESSAY!
  • Thursday, April 19:  Work on Quote Challenge, page 21-22.  Start working on essay.
  • Wednesday, April 18:  El Greco painting activity.  Discuss chapter 9.
  • Tuesday, April 17:  Color Symbolism activity.  Discuss chapter 8.  Read chapter 9.  Finish for homework.
  • Monday, April 16:  Close read chapter 7.  Discuss chapter 7.  Read chapter 8 plus SG.  Finish for homework.
  • Friday, April 13:   Discuss chapter 6.  Read chapter 7.  Finish chapter 7 plus study guide for homework! BIG CHAPTER!
  • Thursday, April 12:  Close Read of chapter 5 plus study guide discussion.  Read chapter 6 – Finish reading for homework.
  • Wednesday, April 11:  Read chapter 5.  Discuss study guide.  No homework.
  • Tuesday, April 10:  Quiz chapter 4.  Work on study guides.  Discuss highlights.  No homework.
  • Monday, April 9:  Close read of chapter 3 then discuss chapter 3 (juxtaposition and study guide).  Read Chapter 4 for homework.  Quiz tomorrow.
  • Friday, April 6:  Complete “Lifestyle Activity” on pages 7-8.  Read chapter 3 + study guide – Finish for homework.
  • Thursday, April 5:  Discuss chapter 2.  No homework!
  • Wednesday, April 4:  Close read of chapter 1 (page 5).  Discuss chapter 1 study guide.  Read chapter 2 – Finish for homework.
  • Tuesday, April 3:  Intro notes (page 3).  Check out books.  Read chapter 1.  Finish chapter 1 reading plus study guide for homework.

SPRING BREAK!

  • Friday, March 23:  Quiz over A & E Biography video.  Notes on Modern Era.
  • Thursday, March 22:  View A & E Biography video: F. Scott Fitzgerald.  Take notes on page 1.
  • Wednesday, March 21:  Noredink Quiz.  Library check out day!
  • Tuesday, March 20:  ACT Day!!  You will be great!  Done at 1:15, busses run at 1:45.
  • Monday, March 19:  Practice Reading Test Competition!  Last-minute ACT tips.  Don’t forget Grammar study session @ 7:00 Pm TONIGHT!
  • Friday, March 16:  Timed Write Day – ACT online.
  • Thursday, March 15:  Revise and reflect on ACT timed write.
  • Wednesday, March 14:  Timed Write Day – ACT online.
  • Tuesday, March 13:  Bubble in day – cafeteria.  If time, begin revising timed writes.
  • Monday, March 12:  Annotate sample prompts for ACT.
  • Friday, March 9:  ACT Prep – hand out unit.  Get logged in online to ACT Website (see post on homepage).  Practice English Test Competition!  (page 3-5)
  • Thursday, March 8:  ACT Prep questions.  Work time on final drafts.  Hand in emails!
  • Wednesday, March 7:  Email “Net”iquette (in packet).  Complete pages 38-40 (pick 2).
  • Tuesday, March 6:  Noredink (Parallel Structure).  Sign up for Scholly (through ReachHigherMontana.org).  Work on final drafts of tech writing.
  • Monday, March 5:  Watch “The Millennial Question” and complete 3 questions on page 33.
  • Friday, March 2:  Panel discussion!
  • Thursday, March 1:  Questions for panel tomorrow.  Work on 1st drafts.

FEBRUARY

  • Wednesday, February 28:  Reach Higher Montana presentation.
  • Tuesday, February 27:  Work on applications.  Both are linked in page (page 3/4).  Handwritten copies are sufficient.  1st draft due 3/1.
  • Monday, February 26:  Cover Letter or Personal Essay work!  Letter:  Use pages 14-18 for information to plug into a Google template.  Essay:  See prompts on page 3 – pick one and draft it!  1st draft due 3/1.
  • Friday, February 23:  Resume work!  See pages 14-18 for outline then create a Google resume template to enter your information.  1st draft due 3/1.
  • Thursday, February 22:  New Unit!  Career/College.  Complete CareerCruising Inventory (page 2) and enter “research” on pages 5-7.  Read article on pages 8-12 and answer questions on page 13.  Due Monday.
  • Wednesday, February 21:  Revision of Timed Write – Focus on introduction paragraphs and conclusion.  Notes here: Argumentative_Revision_Notes
  • Tuesday, February 20:  Argumentative Timed Write #1 – E-Cigarette Regulations.  Here are the brief notes from the beginning: Argumentative_Essay_Notes
  • No school Monday!
  • Friday, February 16:  Peer revision of book reviews.  SRI for Lexile.  Work on book reviews.  Final book reviews are due 2/21 (Wednesday).
  • Thursday, February 15:   Quiz.  My Voice Survey.
  • Wednesday, February 14:  Kahoot to review for quiz.  Define Epigrams (page 57).  Read “The Notorious Jumping Frog of Calaveras County” and answer questions (59-65).  Due tomorrow.  Quiz tomorrow.
  • Tuesday, February 13:  Define local color.  Read “High Horse’s Courting” (pg 50-56).  Answer questions 1-5, 7 and 8 (pg 56).
  • Monday, February 12:  Revision of Timed Write plus an overview of poem response.
  • Friday, February 9: School Cancelled -Weather.
  • Thursday, February 8:  Timed Write (page 48 of packet).
  • Wednesday, February 7:  Hand in “O Captain” questions.  Read “Mystery of Heroism” and answer questions 1-7 and 9.  Due Friday.  Timed write tomorrow!
  • Tuesday, February 6:  Read and discuss “O Captain, My Captain!” and “Elegy for JFK” then answer questions.  Due tomorrow.
  • Monday, February 5:  Read and Discuss “Gettysburg Address.”  Answer questions 2, 4, 5 and 7.  Due tomorrow.
  • Friday, February 2:  Finish “Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge.”  Discuss questions.  Finish on own.  Due Monday.  Question 6 should be:  Analyze the point of view in Sections II and III. Where does the point of view shift?  How does the shift affect the level of suspense?  Consider 3rd person limited and 3rd person omniscient.
  • Thursday, February 1:  Begin reading “Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge” and answer questions 1-3.
  • Wednesday, January 31:  Quiz over Narrative of Frederick Douglass.  Finish analyzing poems.  Response due tomorrow.
  • Tuesday, January 30:  Read / Analyze “On Being Brought from Africa to America” (page 21) as a class then read and analyze “Free Labor” and “Stanzas on Freedom” (pages 22 and 23) in partners.  Write the response on page 24.  Due Thursday.
  • Monday, January 29:  Read “The Battle with Mr. Covey” and answer questions.  Then read “Letter to My Former Master” and answer questions.  (pages 16-20).  Due tomorrow.
  • Friday, January 26:  Silent Reading Time. Discuss chapters 4-7.  Read chapters 8-11 / questions.  QUIZ TUESDAY.
  • Thursday, January 25:  Noredink – “Quotes” – complete on own.  Discuss chapters 1-3.  Read chapters 4-7 / questions.
  • Wednesday, January 24:  Take notes (guided notes on page 6).  Begin reading Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass – chapters 1-3 plus questions.
  • Tuesday, January 23:  NEW UNIT: Realism.  Complete assignment on page 5 before February 8th.  Take notes (guided notes on page 4).  Complete quick writes on pages 2 and 3 – class discussion.
  • Monday, January 22:  Library trip plus housekeeping and assign Book Review (1st drafts due 2/16).

Week of January 26-18: Semester Finals!

  • Friday, January 12:  Reflection on writing challenge.  Review for semester final.
  • Thursday, January 11:  Round 2 of scoring!  Hand out semester review sheet.
  • Wednesday, January 10:  Round 1 of scoring!
  • Tuesday, January 9:  Bell Ringer 2 Quiz (must make up).  Work time the n transcendental paragraph.
  • Monday, January 8:  Kick off Writing Challenge!  Vocabulary quiz tomorrow.
  • Friday, January 5:  Finish close read of “Civil Disobedience” (Sections 2, 3, 5).  Answer questions in margins.  2nd Draft of Essays due Wednesday!
  • Thursday, January 4:  Close read of “Civil Disobedience.”  Read   Section 1 on page 22-23.  Answer questions in margins.
  • Wednesday, January 3:  Discuss “O Me! O Life!” then revise Classification/Division Essays.  Outline and 2nd drafts due January 10th.
  • Tuesday, January 2:  Pages 13-14 in the packet – Read the poem “O Me! O Life” and answer corresponding questions then watch iPad commercial and read critique and answer those corresponding questions.  Due tomorrow at beginning of class.

    DECEMBER

    • CHRISTMAS BREAK!
  • Friday, December 22:  Book Commercials.  Library Time.  Update reading logs.
  • Thursday, December 21:  Hand in Self-Reliance questions.  Work on Into the Wild quotation analysis.
  • Wednesday, December 20:  Discuss “Nature.”  Read “Self-Reliance” and annotate.  Homework:  Finish questions for Self-Reliance.  Due tomorrow.
  • Tuesday, December 19:  Discuss Transcendentalism (notes) then read “Nature” and answer questions.
  • Monday, December 18:  NEW UNIT!  Complete activities on page 2-4 then discuss.
  • Friday, December 15:  Bell Ringer Quiz.  Revise timed write from previous day.
  • Thursday, December 14:  Classification/Division Timed Write.
  • Wednesday, December 13:  Finish reading “Rip Van Winkle.”  Answer questions 1-8 on page 59.  Due tomorrow.
  • Tuesday, December 12: Discuss allegorical elements in “The Masque of the Red Death”.  Begin reading “Rip Van Winkle” in packet (page 47-52). Read through page 52 for tomorrow.
  • Monday, December 11:  Finish analyzing “A Blessing.”  Read “The Masque of the Red Death” (page 38-45 in packet).  Questions tomorrow.
  • Friday, December 8:  Notes on Romantics (email me for link).  Read  / Analyze “A Blessing” using TPS-FASTT.
  • Thursday, December 7:  Revise timed write.  Focus: Categories with common scheme/thread, Thesis Statements, Main idea sentences.
  • Wednesday, December 6: Timed Write – Classification / Division
  • Tuesday, December 5: Discuss Aphorisms.  Discuss US Constitution test. Assign page 32 – Motto. Notes on Classification / Division: Notes
  • Monday, December 4:  Discuss questions from Autobiography. Hand in. Define Aphorism (page 2 of unit).  On page 30, translate Franklin’s most popular aphorisms into modern language and meaning.  Categorize it under the virtue it falls. Finish for homework.
  • Friday, December 1:  Discuss “successful people.” Read Ben Franklin’s Autobiography excerpts (pages 26-29).  Answer questions (page 30).  Due Monday.

NOVEMBER

  • Thursday, November 30:  Take US Constitution practice ACT Test.
  • Wednesday, November 29: Read and annotate poem “Concord Hymn” (page 23).  Read “Legacy of Peace and Unity” (page 24-25).  Begin writing in response to prompt on either page 17 or 22 (your choice).  Due Friday.
  • Tuesday, November 28: Annotate/Discuss Bill of Rights.
  • Monday, November 27: Finish annotating Declaration of Independence.
  • Tuesday, November 21:  Annotate Declaration of Independence.
  • Monday, November 20:  Discuss Rhetorical Devices and Notes on Enlightenment Notes_Declaration_Argument
  • Friday, November 17:  Identify use of Ethos/Pathos/Logos in Steve Jobs’ Commencement Address, 2005.  Complete questions and discuss (in packets).
  • Thursday, November 16:  Library Day Checkout.  Bonus work time (due to technical difficulties previous day).  Finals due tonight by midnight!
  • Wednesday, November 15:  Final Work Day on essays.  Conference with Mrs. Schulte.
  • Tuesday, November 14:  Peer Revision Day – see home page for instructions
  • Monday, November 13: Recap Friday, Self-Revision (see slides on home page), Workshop Thesis statements.
  • Monday and Tuesday, November 6-7:  Week 11 (Eng3)

OCTOBER

SEPTEMBER

  • Monday-Friday, September 25-29:  Week 5 (Eng3).
  • Thursday and Friday, September 21, 22: Week 4.5 (Eng3)Annotated Poem.
  • Monday through Wednesday, September 18-20: Week 4 (Eng 3).
  • Friday, September 15:  Notes on Native American literature and reading two myths. Intro Notes and American Indian Myths Questions.
  • Thursday, September 14: Library spillover day / Work day – Finish genre walk, check out a book, complete noredink (from Monday) and finish Narrative Article notes and paragraph.
  • Wednesday, September 13: Library day!  Complete Genre Walk. Genre Walk.
  • Tuesday, September 12:  Choose and read a narrative article.  Complete handout and write a paragraph responding to the time capsule question. Narrative Article Questions.
  • Monday, September 11:  Setup noredink.com account.  Complete Diagnostic.
  • Wednesday through Friday, September 6-9: Week 2 and  Binder_Assembly_Instructions (also on homepage)
  • Tuesday, September 5:  “Letter to Self” due today.  Created mailbox folder.  Went over syllabus.
    • Homework: Signed syllabus and supplies due Thursday.  Survey paragraph due Friday.
  • Friday, September 1: Watched TED Talk – “The Danger of a Single Story” (find link on my homepage) and wrote a response (English II: TED Talk Response / English III: TED Talk Response – 3 ).  Homework is the “Letter to Self” – Due Tuesday 9/5. Letter.
  • Thursday, August 31: First day of class!  Welcome back!